Finalists for the 2011 WI Soybean Yield Contest are Announced

2011 was another great year to be a soybean producer in Wisconsin. Even with the production challenges growers faced across the state the average yield was 47 bu/ acre (NASS, 2011) which ranked third nationwide. We also saw a significant increase in the number of entries into the 2011 WSA/WSMB Soybean Yield Contest. The top three entries in the non-irrigated class (in no particular order) were: RnK Devoe Farms, Monroe (planted Pioneer 92Y51), Zenz Farms, Lancaster (planted Asgrow 2403), and S+W Farms LLC, Platteville (planted Dairyland DSR2770/RR). The top two entries in the irrigated class (in no particular order) were: AB Farms, Dallas (planted Pioneer 91M10) and Badgerland Grain Farms LLC, Edgerton (planted Asgrow 2330). The final ranking and awards will be presented at the 2012 Corn Soy Expo to be held at the Kalahari Convention Center, Wisconsin Dells on Thursday February 2nd. The contest is sponsored by the WI Soybean Program and organized to encourage the development of new and innovative management practices and to show the importance of using sound cultural practices in WI soybean production.

For more information please contact Shawn Conley, WI State Soybean Specialist at 608-262-7975 or

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply