Winners of the 2012 WI Soybean Contest are Announced

The 1st place winner in Division 4, Bahr Farms of Belmont grew Trelay 24RR19 and harvested 82.6 bu/a. In second place, Nick Viney of Badgerland Grain Farms, Edgerton, grew FS HiSoy HS 24A01 and harvested 81.4 bu/a. In Division 3, RnK DeVoe Farms on Monroe won 1stplace with Pioneer 93Y43 at 75.2 bu/a and in 2nd place, Josh Trautman of Badgerland Grain Farms, Edgerton, harvested 74.2 bu/a with FS HiSoy HS 24A01.  Also in Division 3, the Wisconsin Bean Team of UW Graduate students Adam Gaspar, David Marburger, and Scott Rowntree grew Pioneer 92Y51 and harvested 79.0 bu/a. The WI Bean Team is ineligible for official prizes as they are grad students of Dr. Conley; however their efforts are still unofficially recognized.   In Division 2, Jerry Koser of Almena achieved 73.7 bu/a from Pioneer 91M10 for first place. In 2nd place, Fly-By Acres of Sheboygan Falls harvested 69.6 bu/a from NK Brand 21-N6 Brand soybeans. In Division 1 at 61.2 bu/a is Kloos Acres from Stratford.  They planted Pioneer 91Y30. 2nd place winner in Division 1 was Paul Graf Farms from Sturgeon Bay.  They harvested 47.2 bu/a from Asgrow AG1031.  

The contest is sponsored by the WI Soybean Program and organized to encourage the development of new and innovative management practices and to show the importance of using sound cultural practices in WI soybean production.

For more information please contact Shawn Conley, WI State Soybean Specialist at 608-262-7975 or

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply