Winners of the 2014 WI Soybean Contest are Announced

The 1st place winner in Division 4, Bahr Farms Inc. of Darlington, grew Channel 2402R2 Brand and harvested 84.99 bu/a.  In second place, McComish Family Farms of Shullsburg grew Channel 2402R2 Brand and harvested 79.62 bu/a.  In Division 3, Ellis Farms Inc. of Walworth won 1st place with Jung 1250RR2 at 73.80 bu/a, and in 2ndplace, Caliber Custom Services of Kaukauna harvested 63.32 bu/a with DuPont Pioneer P22T69R.  Also in Division 3, the Wisconsin Bean Team of UW Graduate students Adam Gaspar, David Marburger, and Ethan Smidt grew Pioneer P28T33R and harvested 89.58 bu/a. The WI Bean Team is ineligible for official prizes as they are grad students of Dr. Conley; however their efforts are still unofficially recognized.   In Division 2, Stetzer Brothers LLC of Melrose achieved 81.78 bu/a from NK Brand 17G8 for first place.  In 2nd place, Kloos Acres of Stratford harvested 60.60 bu/a from DuPont Pioneer 91Y90 soybeans.  In Division 1 at 54.72 bu/a was Jerry Koser from Almena who planted Pioneer 91M10.  2ndplace winner in Division 1 was Paul Graf Farms LLC from Sturgeon Bay.  They harvested 38.45 bu/a from Pioneer 90Y90.  

Reported production practices of yield contest winners.

 The contest is sponsored by the WI Soybean Program and organized to encourage the development of new and innovative management practices and to show the importance of using sound cultural practices in WI soybean production.

2014 Geographic Division Map
For more information please contact Shawn Conley, WI State Soybean Specialist at 608-262-7975 or

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply