Winners of the 2023 WI Soybean Yield Contest

Division 1:

1st           Todd Poeschel, Buffalo County (88.46 bu/a with Pioneer P18A73E)

2nd          Justin Sarauer, Chippewa County (77.66 bu/a with Pioneer P13T47E)

Division 2:

1st           Jim Salentine, Kewaunee County (81.85 bu/a with Stine 19EC12)

2nd          Nick Fitzgerald, Manitowoc County (78.44 bu/a with NK 14-W6E3)

Division 3:

1st           Don and Doug Midthun, Dane County (107.45 bu/a with Asgrow AG24FX1)

2nd          Nick Venable, Rock County (93.76 bu/a with Jung 1244XF)

  • *UW Bean Team (Mark Kendall, Andrew Malcomson, Haleigh Ortmeier-Clarke, Tatiane Severo Silva), Columbia County (90.97 bu/a with Dyna-Gro S21EN81). The UW Bean Team attained the 3rd highest yield in Division 3. The UW Bean Team consists of graduate students and postdocs of Dr. Conley who make all agronomic decisions for their entry.

Division 4: 

1st           Tom Evenstad, Lafayette County (97.27 bu/a with Dyna-Gro S29EN62)

2nd          Jason Weigel, Grant County (95.64 bu/a with Beck’s 2830E3)

New Contestant Award

  • Dan Kamps, Lafayette County (92.86 bu/a with Xitavo XO 2832E)

Planting Green Award

  • Dennis Roche, Dodge County (77.82 bu/a with CROPLAN CP1721E)

The contest is sponsored by the WI Soybean Program and organized to encourage the development of new and innovative management practices and to show the importance of using sound cultural practices in WI soybean production.

For more information please contact Shawn Conley, WI State Soybean Specialist at 608-800-7056 or